Watkins Museum
Taylorsville, Mississippi’s
Piney Woods Museum
Home Articles Photos About Credits Contact Us
Taylorsville, Mississippi’s
Watkins Museum
Period Clothing
Office Equipment
Items From Everyday Life
Washington Printing Press
Home
Articles
Photos
Things to Know:
Pages to Explore:
Credits
About Us
Contact Us

Copyright © 2013  Town of Taylorsville, MS

All rights reserved.


Home Articles Photos About Credits Contact Us

The Watkins family became an institution in Taylorsville. John T. Watkins came here from Raleigh about 1900 and brought with him the old Washington press which he is said to have bought second hand. He ran the paper until his death in 1930, then his daughters, Hattie and Marie continued the operation.

During his lifetime, Watkins served as tax assessor of Smith County, superintendent of education, mayor of Taylorsville, and town treasurer. He was a lawyer, an editor, and a pillar in the Methodist Church.

His daughters grew up in the newspaper business which was also a country store, so that when it fell their lot to take over the paper, they were long experienced in the printing business.

Gradually, the family died off, but before the sisters’ deaths they made arrangements to give the old press and then tumbling down office to the town with the idea that it might someday become a little museum.

Here today may be seen not only the old printing equipment which includes old brass type, large wooden type, copper plates sent to the newspaper to advertise victrolas, early model refrigerators, patent medicines, etc., buckets of ink, other tools of the trade, but also a stock of merchandise. The latter includes an assortment of high-buttoned shoes, the original lace-up boots, ladies hats, baby ointment, copies of many magazines long since out of print, and numerous other items. On display are scores of old copies of the Signal, copies of old time sheet music, caned and cowhide-bottomed chairs, a spinning wheel and much more.

History of the Watkins Museum